Upcoming events

  • No upcoming events

Follow Us

Log in

Log in

Notice of Annual General Meeting

Time: 4:30 PM

Date: Thursday 14 October 2021

On Zoom


  1. Call to order
  2. Approval of Minutes of the last AGM held virtually in December 2020 (download minutes) (download financials) 
  3. President’s Message and Board Report
  4. Auditor’s Report and Approval of Financial Statements (download audited financials) (download report to board)
  5. Appointment of Auditor and Authorization of Board to fix Auditor’s remuneration
  6. Election of Directors (see note below)
  7. Any other business with approval of Chair
  8. Meeting concluded

Voting Eligibility

Members in good standing as of 29 June 2021 and remaining so until the date of the AGM will be entitled to attend and vote at the AGM.

Members whose names appear on the Chamber’s accounts receivable list as on 30 September 2021 shall be ineligible to vote.

Note on Directors’ election

The Board of the Chamber consists of nine (9) elected Directors.

The term of office of the elected Directors is two (2) years.

An elected Director may hold the position for a maximum of two (2) terms (four years) if s/he is re-elected at the end of the first term.

For the 2021 AGM, there are seven (7) vacant positions on the Board.

Two (2) board members are in the middle of their first two-year term and are eligible to continue till the 2022 AGM.

  • Virender Rathi
  • Bhavik Parikh

Tauseef Sheikh has completed his two terms (four years) on the board and retires as a board member at the AGM.

As per the Bylaws, none of the nominated Director are eligible to contest elections.

It may be recalled that for the 2021 elections, the Nominations Committee was appointed in August 2021. It comprises the following members:

  • Sanjeev Malik (chair)
  • Arvind Bhardwaj
  • Hargy Randhawa
  • Praveen Verma
  • Tauseef Sheikh (Board Executive representative)

Subsequently, Arvind Bhardwaj resigned from the Nomination Committee and filed his nomination as a candidate for the director’s position. Virender Rathi replaced him on the nomination committee.

The nomination committee approved of the following candidates as eligible to contest the 2021 elections to the board.

  1. Arvind Bhardwaj
  2. Chirag Shah
  3. Dhaval Vediya
  4. Murarilal Thapliyal
  5. Nayan Brahmbhatt
  6. Prashant Srivastava
  7. Rakesh Joshi
  8. Ripudaman Singh Dhillon
  9. Sanjay Kulkarni
  10. Vikas Sharma

Amit Narwal will be the Returning Officer for the election

Profiles of Candidates contesting Board Elections

Arvind Bhardwaj is CEO Go Brands Communications. He is a former Vice President and Director of the Indo-Canada Chamber of Commerce. Arvind is a sales and marketing professional with over two decades of proven track-record in media and retail sales. He has expertise in human resources, performance-oriented team building and training in media sales and retail sales and operations.

Chirag Shah, a young technocrat who has rapidly scaled peaks of technological achievements by constantly striving to serve clients beyond their expectations. He is a Director of the Indo-Canada Chamber of Commerce. Chirag’s company, SUBHTECH SOLUTIONS INC., focuses on adopting innovative approaches to clients’ needs. Whether it is advanced technology integration, implementation, customization in ERP, CRM, Cloud and mobile solutions, it prioritizes innovation.

Dhaval B. Vediya is a seasoned Marketing, Digital and Product management professional with 15+ years of experience in corporates like Telus, Rogers, J.D Irving Limited, Sintex and CIBC. He is a Chartered Marketer, Mechanical Engineer with two MBAs. Leads CIBC’s International Professional Network (2450 members), co founder of GPAC & Canadian Marketing Association’s B2B Council.

Murarilal Thapliyal is a Managing Partner of Thapliyal & Rai Law Firm, a boutique law firm in Brampton, ON. He is a Director of the Indo-Canada Chamber of Commerce. He was called to the bar in 2007. As a renowned lawyer, he prides himself in serving the needs of the people and communities in the Greater Toronto Area for over a decade. As a sports enthusiast, Mr. Thapliyal devotes resources to promote various sports specially cricket. Thapliyal is at the forefront of many volunteering groups and donation campaigns by being the President of the THAPLIYAL FOUNDATION CANADA.

Nayan Brahmbhatt is an experienced Mortgage Advisor with a demonstrated history of working in the banking industry. Skilled in Sales, Sales Management, Insurance, Business Relationship Management, and Business Development. Strong finance professional with a Bachelor of Commerce with double graduation in law. At the ICCC, Nayan has been a member of the Mentoring Group and member of the SME committee.

Prashant Srivastava is Director Business Development (South Asia) at Seneca College. He is a leader in the international education sector with over 15 years of experience in international business development. Prashant has worked in the field of international marketing and student recruitment in the US, Canada, and India. With a team of regional business development managers, he manages business relationships with 100+ recruitment, academic and industry partners in India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhutan, Sri Lanka, and UAE.

Rakesh Joshi is a member of the Law Society of Upper Canada and is a practicing lawyer in Toronto. He is a Director of the Indo-Canada Chamber of Commerce. He is member of Canadian Bar Association and Director of Canadian Association of South Asian Lawyers. Engaged mainly in Real Estate Law and Corporate Law, Rakesh has handled a high volume of transactions successfully to the utmost satisfaction of his clients. He was decorated with the prestigious Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal.

Ripudaman Singh Dhillon established ICC Canada Immigration Solutions Inc. to help new immigrants to easily settle into a better life in Canada. He is a Vice President and Director of the Indo-Canada Chamber of Commerce. His entrepreneurial zeal led him to launch Guru restaurant in 2013 in Heartland. His affinity for public service inspired him to start Radio Dhun, Ontario’s first multicultural and multilingual radio station, and in 2017 he acquired Radio 1220AM that reaches audiences from Ottawa to St. Catharines.

Sanjay Kulkarni is the CEO and President of Sankul Enterprises Inc., a boutique firm providing CFO services and business value advice to small and medium sized companies. He is a Vice President and Director of the Indo-Canada Chamber of Commerce. Sanjay is a CA(I), CS(I), CMA, CPA, CFA and Chartered Director. With years of experience as a CFO of medium-sized enterprises, Sanjay is a problem-solving leader with the ability to effect change by formulating strategy and business models, business analytics, optimizing capital structure, in-depth business valuations and by identifying/resolving critical issues.

Vikas Sharma Since 2006, Vikas has been the President and Owner of a post-industrial plastics recycling company in Toronto, Canada. He is a Vice President and Corporate Secretary of the Indo-Canada Chamber of Commerce. His firm specializes in trading a wide variety of secondary fiber, post-industrial plastics and raw material to build the efficiency and profitability of its customers recycling operations. Vikas has significant experience in international trade.

Voting process

To allow free and fair elections, the Chamber conducts elections using an electronic voting platform, Simply Voting (www.simplyvoting.com).

Eligible voters will receive an email with electronic voting instructions, prior to 8 October 2021, which is the date on which voting begins.

The voting schedule is as follows:

Voting opens: Friday 8 October 2021 at 10:00 a.m.

Voting closes: Thursday 14 October at 3:30 p.m.

Vancouver • Calgary • Winnipeg • Toronto • Ottawa • Montreal • Halifax